submissions

Submission #2: “He pointed out that I clearly was not white and thus not ‘really’ Australian”

I had just moved into college and like everyone else was really excited to meet new people. Myself and a friend were hanging out in a senior student’s room chatting about what lay ahead of us in the coming semester when the senior student mentioned the fact he had moved to Sydney from Canberra. After doing so, he turned to me and said “that’s the capital of Australia by the way, foreigners always think it’s Sydney but it’s not”. After explaining to him that I was as Australian as he was, he pointed out that I clearly was not white and thus not ‘really’ Australian then began to quiz me on my background.

Share your experiences with discrimination or privilege and help us #wearitdown

Standard

Leave a comment